• Advertisement

mechanics statement re Mus

Discuss all things related to 4x4, Isuzu's and anything else related to getting out and about

mechanics statement re Mus

Postby whitebeach » Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:27 pm

Hi all,
New here and new to Isuzu M's. I have just purchased a 1994 3.1 MU and will need to get the timing belt changed. Not having a mechanic (my other care is new and I take it to the dealer) I have called around and have been met by the same response. "oh there's a lot of stuff on the engines of these Jap imports making it different from the Jackaroo" = every repair is going to be more expensive. I am not a mechanic in any respect and want to know what these "experts" are talking about. When questioned furthur they just say there is "a lot of extra stuff on the engines". I know what a piece of sh**t the Toyota Surf is and I hope to gad someone on this forum can calm my fears that I haven't bought a Jap import that is going to be a problem.

Also how loud should (or should not )the sound of the turbo be before changing it. If I can hear the turbo through the hood wirring after a drive is that not good?

Many thanks

Nervous in Whitebeach
whitebeach
Isuzu Baby

City: hobart
Vehicle: 1994 Isuzu Mu

Re: mechanics statement re Mus

Postby pig75 » Fri Sep 11, 2009 5:51 pm

I would keep looking for a better mechanic. The 3.1 in a jackaroo is the same as the 3.1 in a MU
92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU, 96 Wizard, 14 MUX,2019 Dmax LSU
Australia's loudest MU
MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?
pig75
Site Admin

City: QLD
Vehicle: 90MU, 91MU ute & 92MU, 96 Wizard, 2014 MUX LST 2019 Dmax LSU

Postby geeves » Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:34 pm

Sorry about the turbo. A whine on shut down means the heat shield has come away inside the turbo and one day soon it will either seize resulting in a big loss of power or blow a seal meaning big blue cloud. It could last a year or two or tomorrow.